Customer Engagement & Dynamics CRM Forum

Expand all | Collapse all

Merge Records "Parenting check is enabled by default" - new feature?

  • 1.  Merge Records "Parenting check is enabled by default" - new feature?

    GOLD CONTRIBUTOR
    Posted 5 days ago
    I swear I've never seen this before:
    Parenting check is enabled by default. Uncheck this to ignore the parenting check.
    None of my documentation screenshots have this in them, and I don't see it in the Dynamics 365 documentation. Any ideas or explanations of what this does on a technical level?


    ------------------------------
    Adam Posegate
    Fox Valley Technical College
    Appleton WI
    ------------------------------
    The first step toward cloud success. - Migrate from CRM to D365 with expert guidance from Microsoft. I'm Ready


  • 2.  RE: Merge Records "Parenting check is enabled by default" - new feature?

    MICROSOFT MVP
    Posted 5 days ago
    No I don't think I've seen that either. I have seen a warning where the two records have different parents.

    Merge warning for different parents

    It seems that you are being shown this setting, https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/dotnet/api/microsoft.crm.sdk.messages.mergerequest.performparentingchecks?view=dynamics-general-ce-9

    What steps led you to the message?

    ------------------------------
    Feridun Kadir
    Principal Consultant, MVP
    Expert CRM Services Ltd
    Stansted
    ------------------------------

    The first step toward cloud success. - Migrate from CRM to D365 with expert guidance from Microsoft. I'm Ready


  • 3.  RE: Merge Records "Parenting check is enabled by default" - new feature?

    TOP CONTRIBUTOR
    Posted 5 days ago
    Yes, this is a new follow-up to the recent change to do merging asynchronously.

    I blogged about this original change when it came out in August. Before this change, if you tried to merge two accounts or contacts that had different parent accounts, you'd see a warning indicating this and checking you were happy with the change. After the change to asynchronous merging, the merge would appear to work when you clicked OK in the merge window, but the background system job would fail.

    This new setting allows you to pre-emptively agree to any parenting changes during the merge so that the asynchronous merging background job can complete successfully.

    ------------------------------
    Mark Carrington
    Chief Technologist
    Data8
    Chester
    ------------------------------

    The first step toward cloud success. - Migrate from CRM to D365 with expert guidance from Microsoft. I'm Ready


If you've found this thread useful, dive deeper into User Group community content by role