Customer Engagement & Dynamics CRM Forum

Expand all | Collapse all

Deleted Leads

  • 1.  Deleted Leads

    GOLD CONTRIBUTOR
    Posted Jun 27, 2019 05:00 PM
    We recently found that some users have successfully deleted leads that they didn't create (compared audit history with imported leads). I have checked their security roles and their team permissions. The delete permission is set appropriate to the user level. Is there anything else I can look into to ensure users aren't able to delete leads they didn't create? Anything I'm potentially not thinking of?

    ------------------------------
    Rosemarie Cordell
    Business Analyst
    NEWBERG OR
    ------------------------------
    Conference-CRMUG_200x200


  • 2.  RE: Deleted Leads

    SILVER CONTRIBUTOR
    Posted Jun 27, 2019 05:26 PM

    Hello Rosemarie,

    How did you checked if the security roles for delete where correct?

    Just in case, here is a post where Gus Gonzalez gives a tip to check what a user can do or not regarding a specific entity:
    https://www.crmug.com/communities/community-home/digestviewer/viewthread?GroupId=1285&MessageKey=a2f44ccb-5b9e-409e-a4dc-4178a482d4d6&CommunityKey=dc83c23b-ede0-4070-ae7a-dd90859148a6&tab=digestviewer&ReturnUrl=%2fparticipate%2fdiscussion-forum

    Best Regards,



    ------------------------------
    Laurent Maneville
    N Media
    Drummondville QC
    ------------------------------

    Conference-CRMUG_200x200


  • 3.  RE: Deleted Leads

    GOLD CONTRIBUTOR
    Posted Jun 28, 2019 11:53 AM
    Hi Laurent!

    I checked the Lead settings under Core Records:
    Lead Permissions
    I also watched Gus's video and followed the instructions for the Access Checker plugin and found that users can actually delete leads they didn't create despite the security role looking right. They appear to have the ability to delete leads they own but were created by marketing. That is not ideal.

    ------------------------------
    Rosemarie Cordell
    Business Analyst
    NEWBERG OR
    ------------------------------

    Conference-CRMUG_200x200


  • 4.  RE: Deleted Leads

    TOP CONTRIBUTOR
    Posted Jun 28, 2019 12:03 PM
    @Rosemarie Cordell - Could you further explain your comment of "That is not ideal"? Based on the security settings in your screen shot, the Users can delete only Leads they own. If Marketing is assigning these leads to them, then the Creator of the lead does not matter, only the Owner.

    ------------------------------
    Aaron Back, MCSE
    Sr. Microsoft Dynamics 365 Consultant
    www.acemicrotech.com
    _______________________________________
    CRMUG Board Member
    CRMUG Chapter Leader - Cincinnati, Ohio
    ------------------------------

    Conference-CRMUG_200x200


  • 5.  RE: Deleted Leads

    GOLD CONTRIBUTOR
    Posted Jun 28, 2019 12:21 PM
    Marketing would prefer that the sales reps not delete any lead unless they created it. To achieve this, I'm assuming they should not have any delete permissions on leads since there is no way to differentiate between a lead they created/own or a lead marketing created but they own.

    ------------------------------
    Rosemarie Cordell
    Business Analyst
    NEWBERG OR
    ------------------------------

    Conference-CRMUG_200x200


  • 6.  RE: Deleted Leads

    TOP CONTRIBUTOR
    Posted Jun 28, 2019 03:26 PM
    @Rosemarie Cordell - You could use the Ribbon Workbench to show/hide the "Delete" button on the Lead form based on Display Rules.

    https://www.develop1.net/public/rwb/ribbonworkbench.aspx

    ------------------------------
    Aaron Back, MCSE
    Sr. Microsoft Dynamics 365 Consultant
    www.acemicrotech.com
    _______________________________________
    CRMUG Board Member
    CRMUG Chapter Leader - Cincinnati, Ohio
    ------------------------------

    Conference-CRMUG_200x200


  • 7.  RE: Deleted Leads

    Posted Jun 30, 2019 07:44 PM
    Hi Rosemarie,

    Removing the delete permission would work but I'm interest to know the reason the sales reps needed to delete a lead, understand if it's a data entry error or duplicate.

    Another quick way/codeless for this is to configure a Workflow with the following settings:
    a) Synchronous i.e. not running in the background,
    b) Scope to business unit of the Sales Reps (so that the rule/workflow only applies to them),
    c) Start when: Before record is deleted,
    d) In the steps, add a check for condition "Lead Created By, Does Not Equal To, Lead Owner",
    e) If condition is met, Stop Workflow with a status of Canceled and add your own message.

    This way, the workflow add another layer of validation that ensure that the lead is created by the user, on top of the security role setting which only allow them to delete leads owned by the user.

    Hope that helps.

    ------------------------------
    Jacky Chen
    Consultant
    Chamonix Consulting
    adelaide
    ------------------------------

    Conference-CRMUG_200x200


  • 8.  RE: Deleted Leads

    GOLD CONTRIBUTOR
    Posted Jul 08, 2019 07:57 PM
    Other than data entry error or duplication, we can't think of a reason they would need to delete leads either. I think the best way to solve this is to remove their permissions to delete. It will create more work for the support team but will prevent deletes in error by a large margin.

    ------------------------------
    Rosemarie Cordell
    Business Analyst
    NEWBERG OR
    ------------------------------

    Conference-CRMUG_200x200


  • 9.  RE: Deleted Leads

    TOP CONTRIBUTOR
    Posted Jun 27, 2019 09:19 PM
    Hi Rosemarie,

    Apart from the Security role, also need to check if there is any rule that shares leads with others(in the process giving them all sorts of permission on those leads). It could be a workflow, plugin etc. doing that. But it won't be there unless someone created it (as an admin) for some requirement.

    ------------------------------
    Sunil Raheja
    Aha Apps
    Glen Allen VA
    ------------------------------

    Conference-CRMUG_200x200


If you've found this thread useful, dive deeper into User Group community content by role