Customer Engagement & Dynamics CRM Forum

Expand all | Collapse all

Deleting all data in one environment, then re-syncing with another

  • 1.  Deleting all data in one environment, then re-syncing with another

    Posted Nov 21, 2019 01:08 PM
    Hi everyone,

    We'd like to delete all data in our development environment (which has become unwieldy with duplicates from testing workflows, imports, etc), and then re-sync it with data from our production environment. In other words, export all data from production into development.

    I've been looking into the Data Transporter plug-in for Xrm Toolbox. But it seems suspiciously too easy...

    So I'm just wondering if anyone has ever been in a scenario similar to ours, and if you have any tips, words of warning, or any other insights I'd need to consider to make sure this is done safely.

    Thanks!!


    ------------------------------
    Ree Boriay
    System Admin
    Epic Machine
    ------------------------------
    Academy - Online Interactive Learning from Experts


  • 2.  RE: Deleting all data in one environment, then re-syncing with another

    SILVER CONTRIBUTOR
    Posted Nov 22, 2019 06:38 AM
    Ree,

    Are you online or on premise?

    If you are on premise you can:
    1. Delete the development org in deployment manager.
    2. Back up the production database
    3 Restore it over the development database.
    4 Re-import the org for the development environment.

    This is what we are doing.  However we are looking to move to D365 online and will be interested on how this can be accomplished there.

    Wayne.

    ------------------------------
    Wayne Wittman
    CRM Administrator
    MiTek Industries Inc.
    Clifton NJ
    ------------------------------

    Academy - Online Interactive Learning from Experts


  • 3.  RE: Deleting all data in one environment, then re-syncing with another

    GOLD CONTRIBUTOR
    Posted Nov 22, 2019 10:52 AM
    We are online and so we usually just do a full copy of Production to Dev via the the admin portal (https://admin.powerplatform.microsoft.com/). Most of the time, we have solutions in Dev that hasn't been moved up to Prod, so we just export those solutions out first, do a full copy and then import the dev solutions we exported initially.

    ------------------------------
    Edrei Mpanduki
    Technical Analyst
    Scottsdale AZ
    ------------------------------

    Academy - Online Interactive Learning from Experts


  • 4.  RE: Deleting all data in one environment, then re-syncing with another

    Posted Nov 22, 2019 11:12 AM
    I agree, this is the easiest and best method to restore a copy of the prod/test to dev. Get a complete copy to dev.

    ------------------------------
    Sunil Raheja
    Aha Apps
    Glen Allen VA
    https://www.ahaapps.com/microsoft-dynamics-crm/
    ------------------------------

    Academy - Online Interactive Learning from Experts


  • 5.  RE: Deleting all data in one environment, then re-syncing with another

    Posted Nov 22, 2019 11:14 AM
    Hi Ree,

    We had the same issue with our development environment.
    I have gone through some blogs and we used the XRM toolbox.
    Some of the blog links that might help you:
    https://crmmatthew.com/data-integration/
    https://crmmatthew.com/2016/08/03/part-3-which-data-integration-tool-should-i-use/


    ------------------------------
    Hema Shamala
    Software Developer
    Ahaapps LLC
    Glen Allen, VA
    https://www.ahaapps.com/microsoft-dynamics-crm
    ------------------------------

    Academy - Online Interactive Learning from Experts


If you've found this thread useful, dive deeper into User Group community content by role